Born March 28, 1955

1973-1978: Delft University of Technology, Engineering degree in physics (cum laude). Undergraduate thesis advisor: Prof. Dr. J. M. J. van Leeuwen
1978-1982: University of Leiden, doctoral degree in theoretical physics (cum laude). Thesis: On nonlinear hydrodynamic fluctuations. Advisor: Prof. Dr. P. Mazur.
1982-1984: Postdoctoral research with Dr. J. D. Weeks at AT&T Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, U.S.A.
1984-1990: Member of Technical Staff in the Materials Physics Research Department, AT&T Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ, U.S.A.
1991-2009 Professor of Theoretical Physics, Leiden University, Leiden, The Netherlands.
1997-2009 Director, Lorentz Center (International Center for workshops in the sciences at Leiden University).
2010-2015 Director, FOM Foundation (Foundation for Fundamental Research, which is part of the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research NWO).
2015-2016 Director transition NWO, NWO (Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research).
09/2016- Vice president and president-elect KNAW (Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences).
01/2017- Professor of Theoretical Physics Leiden University .


Royal Dutch/Shell travel award, 1982.
  Center of Excellence award from Shell Research, 1995.
  Franco-Hollandais Descartes-Huygens Prize for French-Dutch collaboration, 1999.
  Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences and Arts KNAW, elected 2004.
  Member of the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities, elected 2005.
  Fellow of the American Physical Society, elected 2007.
  Physica Prize 2008.
  Elected Outstanding Referee by the American Physical Society, 2008.
  Royal decoration Ridder in de Orde van de Nederlandse Leeuw, 2008.
  Elisabeth Parvé Steyn prize, 2012.
  Erelid Vereniging voor Technische Physica, 2013.
  Listed in the Top 10 of 2015 of ScienceGuide.
  Listed in the Top 10 of 2016 of ScienceGuide.
  Member of the Academia Europeae, elected 2017.
Experience: CERN Summer student, CERN, Geneva, 1978.
  Advisory editor Physica A, 1988-1990.
  Organisor Aspen workshop on Interfacial Pattern Formation, August 1991.
  Member Program Committee of the NWO Priority Program ``Nonlinear Systems'', 1992-2001.
  Organisor International Summerschools on Fundamental Problems in Statistical Mechanics VIII (1993) and IX (1997), Altenberg, Germany.
  Visiting professor Université Paris VII, June/July 1994.
  Member Daily Board Solid State Division of FOM Foundation (Foundation for Fundamental Research of Matter, the physics funding agency), 1994-1995.
  Member Daily Board Condensed Matter Division of FOM, 1996-1999.
  Member Board of Directors of FOM Foundation, 1996-2005.
  Visiting professor Université Paris VII, June 1998.
  Member Scientific Advisory Board of the Van der Waals-Zeeman Institute, University of Amsterdam, 1998-2004.
  Visiting professor Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, September 2000-2002, 2004.
  Program Leader FOM Program Collective and Cooperative Statistical Physical Phenomena, 2000-2009.
  Program Leader, with A. J. Doelman, of the FOM/NWO Programme Dynamics of Patterns, 2004-2009.
  Editor of Journal of Statistical Mechanics: Theory and Experiment 2004-2009.
  Editor of Physica D, 2004-2007.
  Co-organizer of the Journal Club for Condensed Matter Physics, since 2004-2009.
  Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board ("Beleids Advies Commissie") of the FOM Institute AMOLF, 2004-2007.
  Member of the International Advisory Panel of the Pacific Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, 2004-2009.
  Member of the Advisory Board ("Raad van Toezicht") of the Leiden Astronomy department, 2004-2009.
  Member of the Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institut für Physik Komplexer Systeme, Dresden, 2005-2009.
  Member of Council for Physics and Astronomy (RNS) of the KNAW, 2006-2008.
  Member of the Committee on International Policy of the Dutch Royal Society KNAW, 2006-2009.
  Member of the Member of the International Advisory Board of the International Statistical Physics Conference StatPhys23, 2006-2007.
  Chair of the national committee ad-hoc Actionplan for Physics (later merged into Sectorplan Natuurkunde en Chemie), 2007.
  Chair of the section Physics and Astronomy of the Dutch Royal Society KNAW.
  Co-organizer of the Aspen Center for Physics workshop New Horizons in Condensed matter Physics, February 2008.
  Co-organizer of the Lorentz Center workshop Dynamical heterogeneities in glasses, colloids and granular media, August 2008.
  Member of the TWINS Council for the sciences of the KNAW, 2006-2009.
  Member of the Teylers Tweede Genootschap van het Teylers Museum 2008-.
  Burgers Lecturer at the University of Maryland, 2008.
  Chair of the midterm review committee of the physics departments of the three Dutch Technical Universities, fall 2008.
  Member of the Committee Implementation Sectorplan Physics and Chemistry, 2008-2009.
  Member of the Energy Panel of EASAC, 2010-2104.
  Member of the Supervisory Board (Raad van Toezicht) of Teylers Museum, 2012-.
  Chair Advisory Board of the Foundation for Lorentz-Einstein Media Research and Application, 2012-2016.
  Member of the of Supervisory Board (Raad van Toezicht) of Leiden University, 2014-2016.

  Member of the High Level Steering Committee of the EU Flagship Quantum Technologies, 2016/2017.

  Member of the High Level Strategy Group on Industrial Technologies of the EU, 2017/2018.

  Chair of the Energy Steering Panel of EASAC, fall 2017-.
  Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Instituten for Dynamics and Self-Organization, 2018-.
Personal: Married to Nynke Smits; daughters: Alieke (1983), Paulian (1986), Simone (1990).

[Publications] [Wim van Saarloos] [Instituut-Lorentz][Lorentz Center]